Quintessential American Experience #1: The county fair!

Well, I have arrived and started to settle into my new life in the USA. A small housing development in rural NE Ohio to be precise. We picked up our marriage license today, and, since Kyle has two days in a row off, have headed down to Amish country. I am really excited to be here – the Amish were always SO foreign to me, yet so fascinating. I am really excited to explore more and learn about their culture and lifestyle.

Anyway, a couple of weeks ago Kyle was working on a Saturday, so my in-laws took me to the county fair. It was a really fun experience. Prior to this, I had never heard of tractor pulls or elephant ears, nor had I had the chance to sample the glories of deep fried oreos. (On an unrelated note, 3 weeks in the US plus 2 in Nz plus a couple of not caring weeks in Japan = Laura’s weight going in the wrong direction. Time to do something about that. From Wednesday, when I get home from Amish Country).

Anyway, without further ado, here are some photos:

IMG_2055

There were a bunch of animals (duh). They were cute. I wish their cages were bigger though, even if the fair was only short term.

IMG_2059

Oh my goodness gracious me, way more rides than we have at fairs in New Zealand. My sister-in-law and I went on the ferris wheel. I forgot my fear of heights until it was too late – It hadn’t dawned on me that it was a non covered/outdoor ferris wheel, so you could feel the breeze and see the tractor pulling, and freeze in terror at any rock or creak the ferris wheel made.

IMG_2062

Dinner. I attempted to get quintessential American fair food: A corn dog and nachos. After about 3 minutes, I realised the folly of my ways.

IMG_2070

And THIS is tractor pulling! Basically, tractors compete to see who can pull a weight the furtherest. Well, the people driving the, do. These were loud. Really, really loud. (sorry it’s blurry – my phone doesn’t take great motion pics)

After a while, watching loud tractors made me a little restless, so my sister-in-law and I went for a wander.

IMG_2076

This looked really American, so I made her pose in front of it.

IMG_2078

I found the fair quen of a different county fair. Apparently the represent their county at other fairs as well.

IMG_2079

This is a giant pit of dried corn. Really. And I got to play in it. My life is fantastic.

IMG_2085

This sort of thing reminds me that I’m not at home any more.

IMG_2086

Deep fried oreos. And stunning photography, no?

Anyway, that was the first of many adventures I anticipate having, in between sitting at home shouting at my computer in an attempt to somehow turn that shouting into a masters degree.

Also, a big welcome to Ohio to Molly, at A Move to America http://themovetoamerica.wordpress.com/ . Molly has just made the big move here as well, and is much better at actually updating her blog!

Posted on October 6, 2013, in Budget travel, immigrating, travel, USA. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. haha, yep! You’ve nailed that experience 🙂

Leave a Reply

