Everything’s coming up roses

Well. Yesterday my health check arrived in the mail. Last night I finished filling out my last form for a while. Next weekend I will fly to Tokyo for my visa interview the following Monday. I still have a whole lot of gathering of proof our relationship is legitimate to do, but that shouldn’t be difficult, considering we communicate daily.

I’m really excited, but really nervous. Not just about the interview, but about the move itself. The US has so many awesome things to offer, but there are still cultural differences I need to learn to understand, and the usual worries that come with a big change, especially career wise – my degree is in primary teaching and the elementary job market is tough to break into. It makes me incredibly nervous. I’m working toward my masters at the moment, and I honestly don’t want it all to be in vain. All I can realistically do though is push. We’re prepared to move states if that’s what it takes to find a job. If I’m allowed to test in (depending on state), I might look at adding middle school credentials, especially in math – in New Zealand primary school lasts longer than US elementary, so my students were technically middle school aged.

It’s also the usual nerves of trying to meet people, make friends and find my niche. I plan on volunteering though, which will hopefully help. Also driving – we called the DMV in Ohio and I’m allowed to drive on my international permit for a year, which is great but terrifying – I’ve driven on the right hand side a grand total of twice in my life – the first time my friend made me switch back with him because I was driving too slowly – the second time I chose to switch because there were, gasp, other cars on the road. Even though I’ll legally be allowed to drive, I’ll go for a few practice drives around the neighbourhood with Kyle before venturing out alone!

On the plus side, I get to go to Tokyo soon :). That’s really exciting!

Posted on June 10, 2013, in expat, immigrating, Japan, travel, USA and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Glad I stumbled upon your blog- I love finding other people in similar situations as myself (the whole “go to Japan–start dating someone from a different country–deal with what that means after leaving Japan” number). Good luck in your interview and the whole move 🙂

  2. I am so excited for you, especially as it will be my turn to do the whole interview thing in July. I wish you all the best with everything and will follow your progress. I am doing the paperwork gathering too, which is still making me stressed, but less so now as I get a hang on my senses! I am so amazed we have so much in common right now – including the fact I am a primary school teacher too!! Ohio, here we come!

  3. That is a great opportunity. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

