Bringing fitness back

Firstly, forgive any typos, but I somehow decided painting my nails whilst writing this was the best idea ever. Not so sure I was right on that one.

So. I stepped on my scales the other week. Not so much my scales as the onsen scales. Nothing cusions the blow of finding out how big you truly are whilst standing in a public bathhouse. I went home and diligently plugged into the BMI chart. Obese.

I realised I can’t keep living like this. I want to have children in the not too distant future (but not too close, let’s not rush things), and to do that I must be healthy. Wobbly, jiggly obese me is not healthy.

So I decided to change. Here are the first things I did (pretty much a copy and paste from an email I sent my mother. Because I’m classy like that):

1. Swapped diet coke for green tea, except one small bottle on a Saturday.
2. Tried to eat generally healthy without obsessing, and learning to make substitutions to make things healthier (my tofu chocolate mousse was the hit of the thanksgiving party!)
3. Monitered my calories and exercise on my fitness pal. This has really helped, as I am more aware about which foods are calorie dense and which are light. I am doing this with a sensible amount of calories. I still make sure I have pleantly of protein, whole grain foods and good oils.
4. Snacked regularly to avoid hunger. I plan healthy snacks, with some protein (e.g. apple and a yoghurt or frozen berries and a small piece of parmesian cheese) so I don’t get hungry and eat junk in a reactionary way.
5. Exercised regularly. I have been doing a workout called T Tapp. It’s a short but intense workout, and I have seen huge results. I did it daily for 2 weeks, now I do it four times a week, and also dance, so exercise 5 days. I want to pick up Zumba, and maybe do 2X T Tapp, 2X Zumba and 1X dance.
6. Not deprived myself. If I want chocolate/ cake/ tempura/ steak/  Burger King (Yes, I did!) I eat it, I just adjust what I eat for the rest of the day, and don’t do it every day. Actually, with the closest glorious Burger King being 2 hours away I can’t do it every day. But one opens next week in my city. Drat.
7. Experimented with new, healthy recipes, and ways to make food healthier but still tasty (tofu mousse, new pasta sauces etc). I love cooking, and love challenging myself in the kitchen. I have  a weekly dinner club with friends that’s vegetarian, which is also fun.

Doing the above has enabled me to lose about 4 1/2 kg in the last month, and I feel really, really good. I am excited to exercise and push myself. And I am officially out of obese!

I have decided not to publish a before/ after shot until I get to 8 kg lost.

Posted on December 10, 2012, in Fitness, Japan and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

